Migration status

Although the new site is live, work is still in progress to improve it.

Known issues:

  1. Forums: The organization of (sub-)categories and threads is disrupted. Please use the search box inside the "Message boards" to navigate.

Message Boards

Confined vs. unconfined not in lpf and runfile

TB
Tristan Bergsma, modified 1 Month ago.

Confined vs. unconfined not in lpf and runfile

Youngling Posts: 2 Join Date: 10/30/20 Recent Posts
Since using the native modflow files unconfined can only be set via the project manager not via the runfile. This should change the settings on the third line in the lpf package before running the file. But the lpf file does not change, this seems to be a bug, is that correct? And how can you then change from confined to unconfined using iMOD 5.1? It would be very usefull if the unconfined option is directly available in the runfile. (Using modflow 5.1)
Frans Roelofsen, modified 1 Month ago.

RE: Confined vs. unconfined not in lpf and runfile

Jedi Knight Posts: 100 Join Date: 11/11/13 Recent Posts
Hi Tristan, What you write is correct, from the RUN file you can not run unconfined. See also the description of the Run file keyword IUNCONF in the iMOD manual (https://oss.deltares.nl/web/imod/online-imod-user-manual). Running a model from a RUN file is still available as it is the original way to run a model. However, building and running a model from a RUN file is becoming obsolete. The new way is to run a model from a Project file (*.PRJ). This opens a wide range of options, one of them is running a model with original MODFLOW2005. 
That route includes the option of running your model unconfined. 
So my advise is to convert your RUN file into a Project file. Conversion is possible from the GUI but also with the Batch Function RUNFILE (Manual, chapter 8.6.5). With your new PRJ file you can run unconfined, just choose MODFLOW2005 to calculate your model. Running in MODFLOW2005 is possible from both the GUI as the iMOD Batch Function RUNFILE.However, if you still want to use a RUN file, there is perhaps another option, not preferred, to do it manually.  
In your result directory find your LPF file (e.g.  ..\model01\mf2005_tmp\model01.lpf) and change the 3rd line. Than rerun the model in the result folder with the script ..\model01\RUN.BAT.  Kind regards, 
Frans 
 
TB
Tristan Bergsma, modified 1 Month ago.

RE: Confined vs. unconfined not in lpf and runfile

Youngling Posts: 2 Join Date: 10/30/20 Recent Posts
Hi Frans, thank you for the quick reply. Tested the project option with unconfined in Modflow 2005 and it worked. Could be a nice addition to the project manager to blur the unconfined uption when iMOD Runfile is selected as a Model type. Kind regards, Tristan Bergsma
Frans Roelofsen, modified 1 Month ago.

RE: Confined vs. unconfined not in lpf and runfile

Jedi Knight Posts: 100 Join Date: 11/11/13 Recent Posts
Hi Tristan,
Good idea. So I implemented it right away in the software for the IMOD GUI.
Because we are in the middle of the test phase of the new iMOD5.2, it will probably not in 5.2 but in 5.3 (June 2021).
Kind regards,
Frans