bug message reminder

When adressing a model crash or bug, please remember to include an entire model setup in your post that reproduces the crash or exposes the bug. Also add the XBlog.txt file. This is necessary information for people that are trying to help you. Including your model setup can be achieved by adding the zipped run directory (excluding output) as an attachment to the post.

Forum

Refine grid using xb_grid_ygrid

TD
Thomas Dix, modified 5 Years ago.

Refine grid using xb_grid_ygrid

Capillary Posts: 6 Join Date: 6/5/15 Recent Posts
Hi,

I am new to x-beach and am looking to refine a 2D grid which I have created using the matlab toolbox. I want a finer resolution in the nearshore and in the centre of the model to capture processes around a groyne system and a coarse resolution toward the boundaries of the grid.

I am using the function xb_grid_ygrid to refine the alongshore profile so that it is focused on the centre of the grid using the following settings:

ygr = xb_grid_ygrid(yy1,'dymin',2,'dymax',20,'area_type','center','area_size',0.5);

Where yy1 is my initial alongshore grid spacing, dymin is the minimum cell size, dymax is the maximum cell size, area_type 'centre' refines the mesh in the centre of the grid to an extent of 50% (0.5) of the total area size.

I am happy with the resolution output for the grid in the nearshore but this process creates a fine mesh to the seaward boundary extent (see attached picture) which is not required. I am looking for a way to create a grid which becomes coarser going offshore, even in the region defined using xb_grid_ygrid (the area highlighted in the attached image).

Is there a way to achieve this output in xbeach?

Thanks,

Tom
BH
Bas Hoonhout, modified 5 Years ago.

RE: Refine grid using xb_grid_ygrid (Answer)

Swell Posts: 226 Join Date: 5/20/11 Recent Posts
Hi Tom,

I assume you ask this question in context of computational efficiency. In that case the answer to your question is: no, you can't.