bug message reminder

When adressing a model crash or bug, please remember to include an entire model setup in your post that reproduces the crash or exposes the bug. Also add the XBlog.txt file. This is necessary information for people that are trying to help you. Including your model setup can be achieved by adding the zipped run directory (excluding output) as an attachment to the post.

Forum

Merging Grids

Yadhunath E.M, modified 4 Years ago.

Merging Grids

Wind Posts: 70 Join Date: 7/4/13 Recent Posts
Hai,
I am new to XBeach and trying to run it for initial conditions. Now I would like to know is it possible to make Variable grid size for XBeach. Especially at near shore having a gridsize of 5m (dx and dy). I found an matlab function xb_grid_merge is it possible using this anybody tried this before??

Other wise i know that grid generated by delft3d can be used in XBeach, so if i make three different grids of varying size from offshore to shoreline using delft , Is that possible to merge using xb_grid_merge function. I tried but failed. or else is there any other ways to use three grids at a time in one mode??

xb_grid_delft3d - Convert XBeach grid to Delft3D and back ; if i want XBeach grid from delft3D grid how should i make use of this functio??

Please help me

Regards
Yadhunath
MM
Marco Miani, modified 4 Years ago.

RE: Merging Grids

Wind Posts: 40 Join Date: 4/1/14 Recent Posts
Yadhu,

yes you can.

D3D suite is an excellent tool for grid preparation. That would allow local refinement and bottom-adaptative mesh design.
The suite is open source (you need to request an license and license manager, it's all free of charge) and everything VERY well documented.
You also have video tutorials!!

http://oss.deltares.nl/web/delft3d/download
Enjoy.

Hi Marco,